Night – Elie weisel 

​pg viii  In retrospect I must confess that I do not know, or no longerknow, what I wanted to achieve with my words. I only know that without this testimony, my life as a writer-or my life, period. would not have become what it is: that of a witness who believes he has a moral obligation to try to prevent the enemy from enjoying one last victory by allowing his crimes to be erased from human memory

Xv –  SOMETIMES I AM ASKED if I know “the response to Auschwitz”; I answer that not only do I not know it, but that I don’t even know if a tragedy of this magnitude [ms a response. What I do know is that there is “response” in responsibility. When we speak of this era of evil and darkness, so close and yet so distant, “responsibility” is the key word. ‘The witness has forced himself to testify’F or the youth of today, for the children who will be born tomorrow. He does not want his past to become their future. 

Xx – I no longer pleaded for anything. I was no longer able to lament. On the contrary, I felt very strong. I was the accuser, God the accused. My eyes had opened and I was alone, terribly alone in a world without God, without man. Without love or mercy. I was nothing but ashes now, but I felt myself to be stronger than this  almighty to whom my life has been down for so long in the Mists of these men assembled for prayer I felt like an Observer a stranger

Leave a Reply

